« Almost full: Lars Rasmussen of Google Maps and W3C's Dean Jackson speaking in Sydney | Main | Web Directions Melbourne Event »

June 28, 2006

Announcing the McFarlane Prize for Excellence in Australlian Web Design

The McFarlane Prize for Excellence in Australian Web Design

Named in memory of noted Australian web pioneer Nigel McFarlane, the inaugural McFarlane Prize, aims to recognize and encourage excellence in web design by Australian developers.

The Prize will reward excellence in web design in the broadest sense, from the appropriate use of technology, to design aesthetics, to its impact more broadly on the web.

Open to Australian designers or teams for a site launched or significantly upgraded between August 1 2005 and July 31 2006, the Prize aims to be a showcase of the best in Australian web design, and to inspire other developers in their endeavours.

The McFarlane Prize will be awarded by a jury of Australian experts in various fields of web design and development. The decision process has two stages. In the first stage, entries are assessed for their adherence to best practices in accessibility and standards based coding (correct and valid use of CSS and HTML). These criteria are outlined in detail here.

The top 15 sites from this phase will be individually assessed in four areas by members of the jury who have expertise in a particular area.

These areas are


Full details regarding eligibility, as well as the nomination form, are available here.

Based on the two rounds of judging, the McFarlane Prize shortlist will be announced on September 22nd.

The announcement of the winner of the inaugural McFarlane Prize will be made at the Web Directions Conference Reception, September 28 2006, during Australian Web Design Week.

June 28, 2006 | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Announcing the McFarlane Prize for Excellence in Australlian Web Design:


I believe the Museum of Victoria won for their Caught and Coloured website. I am looking forward to hearing why the judges awarded these websites. The other finalists were:
- Bruce Harris for the moreorless website.
- Fatpublisher for the Trivett website.
- Freckle Creative for the Simply Jazzmin website.
- Glass Onion for the College of Physical Education website.

Posted by: David Quinn | Oct 3, 2006 9:55:08 AM

Thanks David,

the news is now at the Prize site: http:/mcfarlaneprize.com, and I'll post it here and at the Web Directions site shortly


Posted by: john Allsopp | Oct 4, 2006 9:52:44 AM